Just Drag Racing - Facebook  Just Drag Racing - Twitter  


Street Series Champions Crowned at Willowbank Raceway


Willowbank Raceway has capped its 2014 Street Series Winners with Belinda Brockhurst claiming the Powder Puff title, Josh Fletcher taking Street Sedan honours and Ken Rice taking out Street Bike.

Brockhurst defeated Deb Mackay to claim the Powder Puff championship and said it was a shock to claim the trophy after making the top eight for the first time. 

“It’s still sinking in. I was definitely not expecting to take it out. I was just excited to be in the top eight,” Brockhurst said. 

“It has been a good year – both my husband Raymond and I won our first Street Series events this year. Its tough competition but we always have a laugh and a good night out at the track.”

Street Sedan winner Fletcher beat Ray Ross to become the most successful Street Series competitor in the track’s history, claiming his fifth title and third in a row. 

“It is really a great feeling, a very satisfying feeling. I knew I would have a good chance heading to the weekend, but anything can happen in drag racing.” Fletcher said.

Fletcher set a personal best in his 1974 Torana but admitted it wasn’t all smooth sailing. 

“I had some problems with the car leading up to the shootout but fortunately the old girl held together. I said I’d take it one race at a time and it turned out to be my night. 

Street Bike was a battle of two rookies with winner Rice and Craig Banks making the final in their first year in the series.

“I had as good of a chance as anybody on the day but to get the win in my first season of racing the Street Bike series is just a great feeling. It’s surpassed all my expectations.” Rice said.

“I’ve really enjoyed the racing and camaraderie this season. Craig Banks is a great guy, and it was also his first year of racing – I would have been nearly as happy for him to have won it, nearly.”

Queensland Drag Racing Championship titles in SuperComp, Comp Bike, Donnelly Blasting Services Outlaws, Knijiff Earthmoving Modified, Powercruise Super Sedan, Prime Signs/Speed Elec Super Street, Modified Bike, Junior Dragster and Super Gas will all be decided on Saturday 15 November when Willowbank Raceway hosts the state championship finale. 

Image Supplied © dragphotos.com.au

AddThis Social Bookmark Button