Just Drag Racing - Facebook  Just Drag Racing - Twitter  


Competition flares as temperatures soar in QDRC final


Nine Queensland Drag Racing Champions have been crowned after more than 120 racers battled it out at Willowbank Raceway on the weekend in 40 degree heat.

Six brackets came down to the wire, being decided in the final.

Jake Donnelly took out the Donnelly Blasting Services Outlaws on debut with Tony Bellert claiming the SuperComp title. Knijff Earthmoving Modifieds saw Rob Harrington win, while Paul Doeblien sealed his seventh Powercruise Super Sedan 

Modified Bike sees Ken Collin as champion, while Dave Gauldie clinched the Super Gas title.

Donnelly said winning the QDRC Outlaws Championship in his rookie year exceeded his expectations.

“I never in my wildest dreams would have thought that in our rookie year of Outlaws,” he said. 

“The final round of the QDRC could not have gone much better – we top qualified in 40 degree heat, won the final against tough racer Kate Harker and clinched the title.”

Supercomp champion Bellert’s victory was made even more special because of who he was paired against in the final.

“Making it even better was the fact I got to race my idol and my best mate, my dad Phil, in the final.  Sitting down the bottom-end of the track listening over the track PA as he took the semi-final win – that was a pretty proud moment for me,” Bellert said.

A new engine assisted Gauldie to his fourth Super Gas title, but admits he couldn’t have done it without the help of Simon Insherwood – who he defeated in the final

“This is my first title since the move to the bigger engine, it was a fairly major change for us for this year and I have to say thanks to Simon Isherwood and Zok Race Carbs for their help getting us through the learning curve on that one,” Gauldie said. 

“To be able to run with him all year long and have it be really close makes this so much more rewarding. To come out on top at the end of the year is great but it could easily have gone the other way.”

Daryn Schuster won Competion Bike while Jason Hammelswag claimed the round. Prime Signs/Speed Elec Super Street saw Lucas Holz champion as Rob Winterburn won the final and Tim Barron take the Junior Dragster title, with Maella Ward taking out the weekend. 

AddThis Social Bookmark Button