Just Drag Racing - Facebook  Just Drag Racing - Twitter  

Rapisarda and Dobson claim emotional Willowbank win

04202014---Rapisarda-Willowbank 665Rapisarda Autosport International team owner, Santo Rapisarda has claimed the prestigious Louie Rapisarda Top Fuel Trophy, named in memory of his late son, after an emotional victory by driver Allan Dobson at Willowbank last night.

Dobson's win in the A Final against John Lamattina, his second Top Fuel win in two days in the Santo's Super 3 Extreme Drag Race, ensured he was unbeatable in the cumulative points battle for the Louie Rapisarda Trophy.

The veteran team owner, and event naming rights sponsor, said the win was special for him and his family, including sons Santino and Santo Jnr, the team's crew chiefs.

"What an amazing feeling it is for me, my family and team to have this win, what a special win it is for all of us," Rapisarda said.

Dobson said he felt Louie Rapisarda's spirit was riding with him throughout the weekend.

"I would be lying if I said I didn't feel like I had someone else in the cab with me this weekend, I definitely felt (Louie's) spiritual support this weekend," Dobson said.

"It was an awesome race, and such a beautiful thing to be able to win the trophy for Santo being that it's for his own son and for all the love and the passion that Santo has devoted to this sport, I am so happy to have been able to help win back this trophy that is dedicated to his son."

Dobson was in a class of his own for the second night in a row, the West Australian qualifying first with a 4.713, then defeating Phil Lamattina in the first round with a 4.717 to earn his place in the A Final.

Dobson secured the Louie Rapisarda Top Fuel Trophy with a 4.789/278.35, downing John Lamattina's 5.422/173.32.

The Dobson-driven Rapisarda car recorded six passes between 4.650 and 4.789 over the two nights in a strong showing of consistency.

Three-time Top Fuel champion, Phil Read was unable to make the B Final after sustaining too much damage in an earlier pedal-fest against last year's Louie Rapisarda Trophy winner, Steve Read.

Images supplied. © dragphotos.com.au 


AddThis Social Bookmark Button